Structure of the Master's Degree

The Master's degree is organised into a course work phase and a research phase, both having a modular structure with credit points associated.
 

In Heidelberg, Master studies in physics is divided into two phases. The first one, which consists of lectures, seminars and other types of courses, comprises two semesters, in which students can enhance and extend their existing knowledge and skills. Upon completion, students enter into their research phase, during which they learn how to do their own research and explore new issues. The research phase ends upon completion of a Master's thesis.

 

As is the case with bachelor courses, the course achievements are recorded in the form of credits. A complete Master's course consists of 120 credits, which are generally taken over the course of four semesters, with 30 credits to be taken per semester. Just as they do for the bachelor's course, credits refer to the workload that students are expected to perform for any given course module; this includes attendance, preparation, post processing, as well as the time needed for assignments and essays. One credit point is equivalent to about 30 hours of work. Students are expected to work a total of 900 hours per semester, which is only possible if they make good use of the periods between the semesters in which no lectures take place.

 

The course structure includes an obligatory basic part with a choice of modules from the physics course list totalling 16 credits, an obligatory specialised part with a choice of courses from a list of possible topics to gain in-depth knowledge in one particular field comprising 12 to 16 credits, and an open part with modules of the students' own choice worth 16 to 20 credits, which can be selected freely from within any neighbouring discipline, interdisciplinary skills courses, or other courses on offer by the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Further 6 credits are awarded for the oral examination at the end of the first year. The research phase consists of further obligatory modules: 'Scientific Specialisation' and 'Methods and Project Planning' (15 credits each), and the master thesis (30 credits).

 

A list of the modules and the areas they pertain to (including detailed descriptions) can be found in the Master's module handbook. Further formalities are dealt with in the examination regulations for the Master's degree.

 
up

Struktur des Studiums

Der Masterstudiengang wird in Module mit zugewiesenen Kreditpunkten aufgeteilt.
 

Die Struktur des Heidelberger Masterstudiums Physik ist zweigeteilt und besteht aus zwei Semestern für die Weiterbildung durch Vorlesungen, Seminare und andere Lehrveranstaltungen, und einer darauf folgenden einjährigen Forschungsphase, in der die Masterstudentinnen und -studenten selbstständig wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und die Fähigkeit zur Erschließung neuartiger Sachverhalte erlernen. Die Forschungsphase endet mit der Masterarbeit.

 

Die Studienleistungen im Master werden wie im Bachelor mit Leistungs- bzw. Kreditpunkten (CP) bemessen. Der Gesamtumfang des Masterstudiums beträgt 120 Kreditpunkte. Das Regelstudium wird in 4 Semstern (jeweils 30 Kreditpunkte) abgeschlossen. Wie im Bachelor messen die Kreditpunkte die von einem Studenten erwartete gesamte Arbeitszeit für ein Ausbildungsmodul; dies schließt Präsenzzeiten, Vor- und Nachbereitungszeiten sowie Zeiten für eventuelle Hausarbeiten ein. Dabei entspricht ein Kreditpunkt einer Arbeitszeit von 30 Stunden. Pro Semester wird damit eine Gesamtarbeitszeit von etwa 900 Stunden erwartet. Dies ist nur dann möglich, wenn auch die vorlesungsfreie Zeit zwischen den Semestern in erheblichem Umfang genutzt wird.

 

Das Lehrangebot beinhaltet einen Wahlpflichtbereich im Kursprogramm der Physik mit 16 LP/CP. Hinzu tritt ein Vertiefungsbereich der Physik, der aus einem Wahlpflichtseminar (6 LP/CP) und weiteren vertiefenden Wahlpflichtveranstaltungen im Umfang von 12 bis 16 LP/CP  besteht, die von einer mündlichen Abschlussprüfung (6 LP/CP) begleitet werden. Ein Wahlbereich  (16 bis 20 LP/CP), in dem Module aus angrenzenden Fachgebieten, aus dem Bereich 'Übergreifende Kompetenzen' sowie auch weitere Module aus dem Physikangebot der Fakultät frei gewählt werden können, rundet die vertiefende Ausbildung im ersten Studienjahr ab.  Die Forschungsphase besteht aus den beiden Pflichtmodulen 'Fachliche Spezialisierung' (Scientific Specialisation) und 'Methodenkenntnis und Projektplanung' (Methods and Project Planning) mit je 15 LP/CP und der Masterarbeit mit 30 LP/CP.

 

Das Modulhandbuch bietet eine Beschreibung der verschiedenen Teilbereiche des Masterstudiums und eine detaillierte Zusammenstellung der den verschiedenen Bereichen zugeordneten Veranstaltungsmodule einschließlich der zugehörigen Modulbeschreibungen. Näheres zu den Formalia regelt die Prüfungsordnung zum Masterstudiengang.

 
zum Seitenanfang