The application process and deadline for international candidates

International applicants must commence their application by completing an online form.
 

Application process

 

Please check the equivalence of your Bachelor-Degree at URL http://www.anabin.de. In assessing qualifications gained in non-German educational institutions, Heidelberg University follows the regulations of the >>Kultusministerkonferenz<< (standing conference of German ministers of education and cultural affairs - KMK). These regulations are set out in the proposals made by the KMK's central office for assessing foreign educational qualifications and are mandatory guidelines in the state of Baden-Württemberg. Country-specific information on educational qualifications is to be found at: http://www.anabin.de

 

Application form

 

German and international applicants with a non-German Bachelor of Science degree (or equivalent) should send their documents to the address given below

 

Please register first using the online application form (see the link on the right hand side of this web page) and complete it. In addition, send a printout of the form together with the other application material specified below to the University of Heidelberg to the following address which must be reached by January 15th for summer semester and July 15th for winter semster applications, respectively:

 

Universität Heidelberg

 

MASTER / PHYSIK

Postfach 10 57 60

 

D-69047 Heidelberg

 

Germany

 

List of documents required

 

The application for admission must include the following documents:

  1. The completed printed version of the online application form
  2. Officially certified photocopies or typescripts of certificates obtained from university and other tertiary education (i.e. colleges, academies etc.) including
    1. the relevant transcripts of individual grades per semester or academic year (transcript of records), especially those of the fifth semester if the final grade has not yet been awarded and
    2. the diploma supplement. In addition, if the documents are not in German or English an officially certified translation into German is required.
  3. a curriculum vitae
  4. an officially certified photocopy or typescript of the school leaving certificate that entitles the student to enter university in their country of origin (e.g. abitur, baccalauréat, GCE, A & O level, matriculation certificate, etc.) including the relevant list of individual grades. In addition, an officially certified translation in German is required (except for documents in English).
  5. proof of sufficient means of finance for the duration of the master course
  6. copy of the passport (page with name given in Latin script).
 

Country specific requirements

  • Applicants with prerequisites from Mongolia must add to their application a confirmation of the authenticity of their educational prerequisites from the German Embassy in Ulan Bator, in the original or as an officially certified photocopy.
  • Applicants with prerequisites from the People's Republic of China must attach to their application an original confirmation of the authenticity of their educational prerequisites from the Akademische Prüfstelle (APS) of the German Embassy in Beijing
  • Applicants with prerequisites from Vietnam must attach to their application an original confirmation of the authenticity of their educational prerequisites from the Akademische Prüfstelle (APS) of the German Embassy in Hanoi.
 

Selection procedure

 

You can apply for two majors with different priority. Applications will only be considered with an above average degree (corresponding to mark 2,9 in German grading system). The Selection process is a three-step procedure:

 
  1. An initial ranking is made based on the grade of the bachelor degree or the average grade of the last (fifth) semester, if the final grade is not yet available (max 15 points).
  2. An interview (max 14 points) will be held. Here you can prove your personal motivation and qualification.
  3. If the the sum of points scored in step 1 plus those obtained in step 2 is greater or equal to 16 points, admission to the master degree programme will be granted.
 

Interviews

 

The dates for interviews are not yet fixed.

 

Your invitation to an interview will be sent to you electronically, i.e. via email, only.

Acceptance and admission

 

Should you be accepted, you will receive a letter of acceptance (Zulassungsbescheid). You require this document for your registration at the University.

 

Important!

Please note that we do not return any application material submitted to us. It will be destroyed after the application procedure is finally closed. The online application portal and forms are available during the application period only.
 
up

Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbungsschluss) für ausländische Kandidaten die nicht Bildungsinländer sind

Ausländische Bewerber die nicht Bildungsinländer sind finden hier Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren.
 

Anmeldeverfahren

 

Bitte prüfen Sie die Gleichwertigkeit Ihres Bachelor-Abschlusses auf der URL http://www.anabin.de. Um Ihre Qualifikationen zu bewerten, die in nicht-deutschen Bildungseinrichtungen erworben wurden, folgt die Universität Heidelberg den Regelungen der Kultusministerkonferenz (KMK). Diese Regelungen sind in den Entwürfen der KMK-Zentrale für das Bewerten von ausländischen Bildungsqualifikationen festgelegt und sind obligatorische Richtlinien im Land Baden-Württemberg. Länderspezifische Informationen über Bildungsqualifikationen sind auf http://www.anabin.de zu finden.

 

Deutsche und internationale Bewerber mit einem nicht-deutschen Bachelor-Abschluss (oder gleichwertigen Abschluss) senden ihre Unterlagen an unten stehende Adresse.

 

Bitte benutzen Sie das Online-Bewerbungsformular (Link auf der rechten Seite) und füllen es aus. Darüber hinaus senden Sie einen Ausdruck des Formulars zusammen mit den anderen Bewerbungsunterlagen an :

 

Universität Heidelberg

 

MASTER / PHYSIK

 

Postfach 10 57 60

 

D-69047 Heidelberg

 

Germany

 

Bewerbungsunterlagen

 

Die Bewerbung für die Zulassung zum Studium muss folgende Unterlagen enthalten:

  1. ein Ausdruck des ausgefüllten Bewerbungsformulars;
  2. beglaubigte Kopien oder Abschriften von Zeugnissen, die von Universitäten oder anderen Hochschulen ausgestellt wurden, einschließlich
    1. der entsprechenden Abschriften der einzelnen Noten des Semesters oder akademischen Jahres, speziell jener aus dem fünften Semester, wenn das Abschlusszeugnis noch nicht ausgestellt wurde, und
    2. des Diplom-Zeugnisses. Wenn die Unterlagen nicht in Deutsch oder Englisch sind, so ist zusätzlich eine beglaubigte Übersetzung ins Deutsche erforderlich;
  3. einen Lebenslauf;
  4. eine beglaubigte Kopie oder Abschrift des Abschlusszeugnisses der Schule, das die Bewerbung an einer Universität im Heimatland ermöglicht (z. B. Abitur, Baccalauréat, GCE, A & O level, Matrikulationszertifikat usw.) einschließlich der relevanten Bescheinigung der einzelnen Noten. Zusätzlich ist eine beglaubigte Übersetzung ins Deutsche erforderlich (außer für Unterlagen in englischer Sprache);
  5. einen Nachweis über ausreichend finanzielle Mittel für die Dauer des Masterstudiums;
  6. eine Kopie des Ausweises (Seite mit Name in lateinischer Schrift).
 

Länderspezifische Anforderungen:

  • Bewerber mit Unterlagen aus der Mongolei müssen ihrer Bewerbung eine Bestätigung der Echtheit ihrer Bildungszeugnisse von der Deutschen Botschaft in Ulan Bator beifügen, entweder das Original oder eine beglaubigte Kopie;
  • Bewerber mit Unterlagen aus der Volksrepublik China müssen ihrer Bewerbung eine Bestätigung der Echtheit ihrer Bildungszeugnisse von der Akademischen Prüfstelle (APS) der Deutschen Botschaft in Peking beifügen;
  • Bewerber mit Unterlagen aus Vietnam müssen ihrer Bewerbung ein Original der Bestätigung der Echtheit ihrer Bildungszeugnisse von der Akademischen Prüfstelle (APS) der Deutschen Botschaft in Hanoi beifügen.
 

Auswahlverfahren

 

Sie können sich für zwei Hauptfächer mit verschiedenen Schwerpunkten bewerben. Nur solche Bewerbungen werden berücksichtigt, die eine durchschnittliche Note übertreffen (entspricht einer 2,9 im deutschen Bewertungssystem). Das Auswahlverfahren ist ein dreistufiges Verfahren:

 

 

  1. Es wird zunächst eine Rangfolge erstellt, die auf der Note des Bachelor-Zeugnisses oder der Durchschnittsnote des letzten (fünften) Semesters - falls die Endnote noch nicht verfügbar ist - beruht (maximal 15 Punkte).
  2. Es wird ein Bewerbungsgespräch stattfinden (maximal 14 Punkte). Hier können Sie Ihre persönliche Motivation und Qualifikation unter Beweis stellen.
  3. Wenn die Summe der erreichten Punkte in Stufe 1 und derer aus Stufe 2 größer oder gleich 16 ist, so wird die Aufnahme in das Masterprogramm gewährt.
 

Bewerbungsgespräche

 

Die Termine stehen noch nicht fest.

 

Einladung zu einem Gespräch

 

Die Einladung zu einem Gespräch wird Ihnen elektronisch zugesandt, d.h nur per Email.

 

Zulassungsbescheid

 

Falls Sie von der Kommission angenommen werden, erhalten Sie einen Zulassungsbescheid. Sie benötigen diesen Bescheid für die Einschreibung an der Universität.

 

Für die formale Zulassung zum Studium ist die Einreichung aller Abschlusszeugnisse bzw. entsprechend beglaubigter Kopien erforderlich. Kandidaten aus Nicht EU-Ländern sollten beachten, dass eine formale Aufnahme erforderlich ist, bevor ein Visum durch die Behörde ausgestellt werden kann.

 

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir eingereichte Unterlagen nicht zurücksenden. Diese werden nach dem Abschluss des Bewerbungsverfahrens vernichtet. Das Online-Bewerbungs-Portal und die Formulare sind nur während des Bewerbungszeitraums verfügbar.

 
zum Seitenanfang